2007-2008 Archive

Department and Student Activities

Two CS faculty members selected for 2007 Faculty Excellence Award

GAANN Fellowships for Ph D Students

Homecoming '07 Schedule


Missouri S&T Artificial Intelligence Tournament  Fall Semester 2007 Awards Ceremony

(From left to right: 1st Place winner Evan Wright, Dr. Fikret Ercal, and Dr. Daniel Tauritz)

At a ceremony held on December 7, 2007,  Dr. Fikret Ercal , Interim Chair of the Department of Computer Science, and Dr. Daniel Tauritz , Assistant Professor of Computer Science, handed out the awards for the Fall 2007 AI Tournament to the top three placed winners:

  -   First Place: Evan Wright
  -   Second Place: Tim Olson
  -   Third Place: Tim Coalson

All students, staff and faculty were invited to attend the ceremony and applaud the hard work of these outstanding students.

For more detailed information about the AI tournament, see the Missouri S&T Artificial Intelligence Tournament Series web site at: http://web.mst.edu/~tauritzd/AI-Tournament .   More photos


CS Department Faculty Awards Fall 2007


  From left to right: Valerie Houseman, Jasmine Bowles, Lisa Guntly, and Matt Buechler.


For this years 2007 ACM Mid-Central USA Programming Contest held at Missouri S&T, the ACM-W competed with an all-girls team for the first time. Despite the fact that the team only started practicing five weeks prior to the competition, the team did rather well. The ACM-W team achieved forth place for the Missouri S&T competition and 41st overall for the Mid-Central Region. We are very proud of the team and thankful to the coaches ( Julia Albath and Kate Holdener ) as well as Matt Buechler for organizing the competition.



Missouri S&T ACM team takes second place at UIUC's Mechmania programming contest


 Research and Publications

  MCBIOS- The Fifth Annual Conference of the Mid-South Computational Biology and Bioinformatics Society