2011-2012 Archive

Missouri University of Science and Technology has been re-designated by the National Security Agency and the Department of Homeland Security as a National Center of Academic Excellence in Information Assurance Education for academic years 2012-2017. One reviewer remarked, “Missouri University of Science and Technology has an impressive set of experienced faculty – notable for breadth and depth of knowledge on IA and Critical Infrastructure Protection fields.” Missouri S&T was the first university in the state of Missouri to be designated as a National Center of Academic Excellence in Information Assurance Education (CAEIAE)  and also the first university in Missouri to be designated as a National Center of Academic Excellence in Information Assurance Research (CAE-R), in 2007 and 2008 respectively. For more information, see: http://cae.mst.edu/.


Congratulations to Tom Roth and Michael Catanzaro for receiving the NSF ERC FREEDM Systems Center Graduate Fellowship for the 2012-2013 academic year $5000 and FREEDM Undergraduate Research Scholars Program for Spring/Fall 2012, $4000, respectively!  (http://freedm.ncsu.edu)

The FREEDM Systems Center Graduate Fellowship is established to facilitate new avenues for increasing the participation of outstanding and under-represented Ph.D. students in the FREEDM Systems Center and the Undergraduate Research Scholars Program is designed to immerse undergraduate student researchers in the culture and programs of the Center (research-industry-education).

The FREEDM Systems ERC proposes a smart-grid paradigm shift that will enable the U.S. to take advantage of advances in renewable energy for a secure and sustainable future.  Missouri S&T’s Computer Science department plays a major role in the development of distributed grid intelligence.

Both students are supervised by Professor McMillin.  Site leadership of S&T’s FREEDM effort is by Professor Crow.

Dr. Daniel Tauritz granted US patent

On 11/29/2011, Dr. Daniel Tauritz was granted, together with his co-inventor Ray Luechtefeld, US patent 8,069,131 for the system at the heart of their NSF funded virtual facilitation research project, namely an artificially intelligent rule-based system to assist teams or groups in becoming more effective by improving the communication process between members of the team or group. The system helps members share information, negotiate more effectively and make better group decisions. The system is designed to allow users to generate dialog interventions and rule sets which are then vetted by all users of the system.

Ravi Arvapally receives IEEE award & scholarship

Ravi Santosh Arvapally has been awarded a 2011 Richard E. Merwin Student Scholarship by the IEEE Computer Society “For demonstrating outstanding involvement in an IEEE Computer Society Student Chapter, excellence in academic achievement, and promise in future efforts”. He has also won the award for 2011 Outstanding Student Member from the St. Louis Section of the IEEE.

Mr. Clayton Price, Dr. Daniel Tauritz and Mr. Matt Buechler received the 2010-2011 Outstanding Teacher Award on the Missouri S&T campus. The quality of teaching is of utmost importance to the University and the Department. A certificate acknowledging their accomplishments was presented to them on November 30, 2011 at the CET Outstanding Teaching Awards Ceremony. The Outstanding Teaching Award is given each year to faculty members by the Outstanding Teaching Award Committee, which bases its selections on student evaluations.

Dr. Jennifer Leopold, Associate Professor of Computer Science, received the 2010 Teaching Award. Each award winner receives a $1,000 stipend funded by industry and alumni contributions. An awards ceremony was held on Tuesday, February 8, 2011.

4th Annual Computer Science Department "Friends and Family Picnic"

Faculty Positions in Computer Science

Clayton Price promoted to Associate Teaching Professor

Undergraduate Scholarship Applications (deadline February 10th)

Dr. Sanjay Madria receives 2011 Faculty Research Award