2014-2015 Archive

Departmental News 2014-2015

Missouri S&T Hosts GenCyber Security Camp for K-12 Teachers [July 6, 2015]

Hear Dr. Bruce McMillin speaking on the need for improved approaches to Cyber security.  This work resulting from work in conjunction with recent CS Ph.D. graduate Gerry Howser [June 9, 2015]

Missouri S&T named state's only Center of Academic Excellence in cybersecurity [June 9, 2015]

ISC Graduate Research Symposium Winners [June 9, 2015]

Austin Ganter engineers his path to Google [May 1, 2015]

Computer Science and Experiential Learning at Missouri S&T [May 1, 2015]

Dr. Sanjay Madria works on big data analytics for disaster management [April 27, 2015]

Dr. Abusayeed Saifullah has been selected as the recipient of the 2014 Turner Dissertation Award of Washington University for his dissertation titled "Real-Time Wireless Sensor-Actuator Networks for Cyber-Physical Systems” [April 16, 2015]

Dr. Dan Lin, assistant professor of computer science at Missouri S&T, has been named the 2015 Woman of the Year [April 15, 2015]

For the last nine years, the S&T Intelligent Systems Center (ISC) began an annual tradition of holding a research symposium where ISC-supported graduate students present their research.  This year’s ISC Graduate Research Symposium was held April 27th.  More than 20 student presented their research and their papers were be judged on the combination of written content and oral presentation.  [June 9, 2015]

The winners for the 2015 Intelligent Systems Center Graduate Research Symposium have been announced and are as follows:

1st Place:  Thomas Roth – Computer Science, Advisor B. McMillin

2nd Place:  Amir Ghazanfari and Wenbin Li

3rd Place:  Sudharshan Anandan

3rd Place:  Islam Elnabarawy – Computer Science, Advisor D. Wunsch (not pictured)

Dr. Sajal Das to present a Keynote talk at the 2015 IEEE Mobile Cloud Conference [March 31, 2015]

Best Computer Science Degree for Women [March 30, 2015]

The Missouri S&T Department of Computer Science has been awarded as a National Center of Academic Excellence in Information Assurance and Cyber Defense (IA/CD) by the National Security Agency and the Department of Homeland Security. Missouri S&T is one of 56 schools nationwide to have this certification and the only one in Missouri with an active designation.

The goal of the CAE-R program is to proactively increase our understanding of robust IA/CD technology, policy, and practices that will enable our Nation to effectively prevent and respond to a catastrophic cyber event. This program will contribute significantly to the advancement of state-of-the-art IA/CD knowledge and practice.  Missouri S&T offers a unique contribution to the information assurance field with our focus on ensuring the combined cyber and physical security of the nation’s electric power grid, oil, gas and water distribution systems, and transportation systems.

The Computer Science department will receive their official CAE designation at a recognition event in June.

CS Alumna Susan Rothschild Honored for Service [March 5, 2015]

University of Missouri System visit day at the Capitol  [March 2, 2015]

Dr. Bruce McMillin was named associate dean for research and external relations in Missouri S&T’s College of Engineering and Computing effective Jan. 1, 2015. [January 30, 2015]

Dr. Sanjay Madria will be the PC Co-chair of the 17th International Conference on Big Data Analytics and Knowledge Discovery, Valencia, Spain, Sept. 2015. [January 27, 2015

Fed Creating Facial Recgnition APP to Track College Classroom Attendance, with Dr. Zhaozheng Yin [January 22, 2015]

Dr. Abusayeed Saifullah receives the Best Paper Award at RTSS ’14 which is the highest venue for real-time systems research. The award winning paper entitled "CapNet: a Real-Time Wireless Management Network for Data Center Power Capping" was created in collaboration with Microsoft Research with Saifullah as the lead author [December 15, 2014]

Sajal Das will deliver a keynote talk on "Beyond Cyber-Physical Era: What's Next?" at the ACM International Conference on Frontiers of Internet of Things (FIT), to be held in Hsinchu, Taiwan on December 4-5, 2014. [December 2, 2014]

Best Student Paper Award to the paper "Toward Energy Efficient Multistream Collaborative Compression in Wireless Sensor Networks" co-authored by Tommy Szalapski and Dr. Sanjay Madria in the 10th IEEE International Conference on Collaborative Computing: Networking, Applications and Worksharing (CollaborateCom 2014) Miami, Florida, United States, 2014. [October 29, 2014]

Dr's. Sriram Chellappan and Wei Jiang were promoted to Associate Professor with Tenure effective September 1, 2014 [October 16, 2014]

Missouri S&T Works to Increase Diversity in Computer Science [October 13, 2014]

Dr. Daniel Tauritz received a $200K grant from Sandia National Laboratories for “Hyper-heuristics for solving real-world problems on diverse computational architectures.” [September 17, 2014] 

Dr. Sanjay Madria has been appointed ISC Senior Investigator in the Intelligent Systems Center for leading the new research emphasis area "Cyber Security and Trustworthiness".[September 16, 2014]

Dr. Sanjay Madria will be the PC Co-chair of the 16th IEEE International Conference on Mobile Data Management to be held from 15 - 18 June, 2015, Pittsburgh, PA. [September 15, 2014]

Missouri S&T No. 3 among the nation's engineering schools? [August 21, 2014]

  Dr's. Bruce McMillin and Donald Wunsch were among about 40 researchers nationwide selected by a competitive proposal process to participate in the NSF/Intel Idea Lab Workshop on Cyber-Physical Systems in Arlington, Virginia, August 12-16, 2014. [August 14, 2014]

Missouri S&T receives $20M from National Science Foundation (NSF) funding to study climate variability. [August 6, 2014]

Congratulations to Dr.’s Dan Lin, Wei Jiang, Ali Hurson, Sajal K. Das, Bruce M. McMillin, for receiving a $3M National Science Foundation (NSF) grant for cutting-edge security research, training and education. This award provides significant scholarships for domestic students to pursue advanced research and education in cyber security and employment in service to the federal government’s cyber security operations. [August 5, 2014]

50th Anniversary celebration coming soon! Computer Science Department (established 1966) invites alumni, sponsors, supporters, well wishers, friends and families to attend Golden Jubilee celebration activities in 2015 and 2016. [August 4, 2014]

Dr. Sajal Das is General Co-Chair of ICDCN 2015 (16th International Conference on Distributed Computing and Networking), Goa, India, January 4-7, 2015. [August 4, 2014]

Dr. Sajal Das is Program Vice Chair of SMARTCOMP 2014 (First International Conference on Smart Computing), Hong Kong, China, November 3-5, 2014. [August 4, 2014]

Dr. Sajal Das was honored as  Daniel St. Clair Endowed Chair of Computer Science on June 26, 2014. (see attached photo with Provost Kent Wray). [August 4, 2014]

Dr. Sajal Das and Dr. Ali Hurson are General Co-Chairs of IEEE PerCom 2015 (13th International Conference on Pervasive computing and communications), March 23-27 2015, St. Louis, Missouri. This is part of our departments 50th Anniversary (Golden Jubilee) Celebration. [August 4, 2014]