2015-2016 Archive

Missouri S&T co-sponsore IEEE SmartComp 2016

The Missouri S&T ACM SIG-Security Cyber Defense Team (CDT) places 2nd

Annual Student Banquet & Research Poster Showcase April, 7, 2016

2015-2016 seminars

The Missouri S&T ACM SIG-Security Cyber Defense Team (CDT) competed in the international Sunshine Capture The Flag (CTF) competition on March 13, 2016 and placed 2nd out of 281 teams! This jeopardy-style CTF competition involved multiple categories of cyber security challenges of varying difficulty. The categories included exploitation, reversing, forensics, and more. The CDT excelled in all of these categories, were the first to solve several challenges, and were the only team to solve a challenge submitted in the final moments of the competition! Additionally, they enjoyed inviting CDT alum Lance Pendergrass to compete on their team. [March 22, 2016]

Cybersecurity Camp for K-12 Teachers [March 4, 2016]

Library hackathon winners are Computer Science students
[February 11, 2016]

Computer Science Distinguished Speakers Series

Missouri S&T Computer Science celebrates jubilee video [October 23, 2015]

Congratulations to Mr. Clayton Price for his Outstanding Teaching Award for the 2014-2015 academic year. [November 30, 2015]

On Saturday, November 7th, three teams of three students each from Missouri S&T along with Dr. Morales traveled to Webster University in St. Louis to compete in the ICPC Mid-Central Regional programming contest. The top two teams in each of the regional contests advance to the world finals, which, this year, will be held in Phuket, Thailand. Webster was only one of several locations where the contest for our region was conducted. At Webster there were 12 teams, and in the entire mid-central region 155 teams competed. The top team in the entire region solved 8 of the 9 problems. [November 16, 2015]

Team Name Site    Overall    Problems
Jibbers Crabst 1 26 4


28 4
Half Life 3 8 114 3

7:00 am       Left Missouri S&T
9:00             Arrived at Webster and signed in
9:15             Breakfast
9:30             Practice contest
11:45           Lunch
12:30 pm     Contest begins
5:30             Contest ends
5:45             Dinner, awards, and explanation of the solutions
6:15             Left Webster
8:00             Arrived at Missouri S&T

Joey Klix, Jason Mao, Adam Evans,
Dalton Cole, Quincy Conduff,
Grayson Gratop, John Niemeyer
(below), Joshua Zygmunt
(above), Kyle Hatfield, Dr. Morales

Dr. Morales, Adam Evans,
Jason Mao, Quincy Conduff



Dr. Morales, Grayson Gratop,
Dalton Cole, Kyle Hatfield



Moving beyond ‘medieval’ cybersecurity [October 30, 2015]

Tan Le kicks off computer science Golden Jubilee [October 15, 2015]

McMillin elected to IEEE Computer Society Board [October 15, 2015]

Researchers study users to increase cyber security [September 29, 2015]

Missouri S&T receives grant to grow entrepreneurship programs [September 23, 2015]

Dr. Sanjay Madria to deliver a keynote in 6th International Workshop on Dependable Network Computing and Mobile Systems (DNCMS2015), in conjunction with IEEE SRDS2015 On Sept 28, 2015, in McGill University, Montreal (QC), Canada [September 9, 2015]

Missouri S&T computer teams can hack it in competition [September 1, 2015]

Dr. Daniel Tauritz appointed Associate Editor for Evolutionary Computing of Springer’s Natural Computing – An International Journal [August 19, 2015]

Computer Science Golden Jubilee registration is now open (You may register for the event by going to Miner Alumni and navigating to “EVENTS”.) [August 10, 2015]

Dr. Bruce McMillin nominated for the IEEE CS  Board of Governors [July 9, 2015]

Computer Science names two Daniel St. Clair Faculty Fellows [July 8, 2015]